Review: The Atlantis Gene by A.G. Riddle

The Atlantis Gene (The Origin Mystery, #1)My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is probably one of the most mixed reviews I have done in a while. The Atlantis Gene is a story with so much going on I find it hard to summarize. The synopsis of The Atlantis Gene reads quite a bit like a spy thriller/mysteryAnd while it certainly has those elements it is more so a sci-fi thriller. Reading through some of the reviews, I think this is a major factor in the negative comments.

I was very intrigued by the overall premise of this book, unfortunately it took me about 80% into the book to realize this and understand what the premise was. I am assuming that the Author was attempting to build suspense and mystery, but did not do a good job at feeding the audience enough bread crumbs to keep them satisfied and still hungry for more. Instead, I felt like I was just distracted with the same science (alleged) facts re-stated in different ways, or by different characters. As a Sci-Fi geek the science didn’t bother me but I can see how this would possibly drive away fans of more traditional spy / thriller / mystery novels especially when it never really provided answers.

Which leads me to another issue I had with this book. Not enough answers. This is a decent sized book at 449 pages (or 15 hrs and 44 mins in Audiobook format), and by the end of the book hardly any of the mysteries of the book were answered and it left me so frustrated I didn’t even bother with the preview of the next book in the series. While some questions should be left unanswered or as a hook for the next book in a series it is frustrating to a reader to put this much time in a story only to be left with hardly any answers to the multiple questions the story invokes.

I think the main cause for these issues is that there was just way too much going on. We have (possible) Aliens, Nazis, spies, science, time manipulation… and so on. The book really felt like it was written to be more like a good movie or TV series than a novel. The scenes often felt rushed, and the scenes would abruptly change making me have to skip back to see if I missed something.

Overall, I struggled with the rating of this book because I liked the premise and promise so much but was fairly disapointed with the delivery. I feel like a lot of these things are the product of a fairly new writer and if he could polish these problems he could write a really good book!

The Audiobook version of this book was narrated by Stephen Bel Davies. Davies did a good job narrating the novel and providing the correct tone and mood to the scenes. While I do not feel that he blew me away with his performance, it was still a solid performance that I found no issues with.

View all my Goodreads reviews

Leave a Reply

