Review: Steamborn by Eric R. Asher

Steamborn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsys:
Steamborn is about Jacob, a young man with a gift for mechanics and pick-pocketing. Jacob lives in the Lowlands, the slums of the mountain city Ancora. When the towering city walls – that have protected the Lowlands and its people from the creatures that live outside of the city in what is called the Deadlands – are breached and fall Jacob and his family and friends must flee to the Highlands, the wealthy part of the city. Jacob and his friend Alice stumble upon a terrible secret about the truth behind the attacks on the Lowlands.

Review:
I was excited about this new series from Eric R. Asher, as I enjoyed his The Vesik Series: Books 1-3. I have not read many novels of the steam-punk genre, So I was even more interested in giving it a try. I was not disappointed!

What I enjoyed most is the world this novel is based in. There is a rich and deep history full of mysteries, many of which go unanswered in book 1. Not only is the city and world surrounding it written well, the political tensions and intrigues are also done very well. Every character carries with him or her pieces of this history or political conflicts making each character an integral part of the overall story.

I found the writing in Steamborn more polished than in the Vesik series. In my review of The Vesik Series Books 1-3, I stated there was an issue I had with repetitive reactions. I found absolutely none of that in Steamborn, and the overall feel was more polished.

I experienced this novel through Audiobook. The Narrator was Saskia Maarleveld. I found her narration quite enjoyable. The voices were all performed excellently. Each character was consistent and distinct.

My only complaint is that the story ended too soon as I was not ready to end my journey with Jacob, Alice, and Charles! I look forward to the next book in this series, Steamforged!

Check out Eric R. Asher’s site here: http://www.ericrasher.com/

Check out Saskia Maarleveld’s site here: http://www.saskiamaarleveld.com

Disclaimer: I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher

View all my reviews on GoodReads.com

2 comments on “Review: Steamborn by Eric R. Asher

  1. This sounds like a really interesting book! I find that narrators can either make or break a good story, so I’ll look out for this one. Great review 🙂

    • thejoester says:

      Thank you! I totally agree about narrators making or breaking a story! There are so many good narrators with the popularity of Audible now its great!

Leave a Reply

